Category: Kara

Book Review of In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

Posted March 29, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 21 Comments
Book Review of In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

Publisher: AmuletRelease Date: April 2nd, 2013Genre: Young Adult-Historical, ParanormalPages: 400Source: Netgalley Description from Goodreads: In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an atmosphere of fear and confusion. Sixteen-year-old Mary Shelley Black watches as desperate mourners flock to séances and spirit photographers for comfort, but she herself has never believed in ghosts. During her bleakest moment, however, she’s forced to rethink her entire way of looking at life and death, for more »

Stacking the Shelves #35

Posted March 23, 2013 by Kara in Kara, Stacking the Shelves / 23 Comments
Stacking the Shelves #35

Welcome to Stacking the Shelves! Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Team Tynga’s Reviews. This is where we showcase books we have received or bought during the week.Today is my 35th edition of Stacking the Shelves. Here’s to another happy 35!This week is also Great Imaginations’ 2 year blogoversary. We’re not planning anything too huge, but we do have a lovely Easter giveaway planned for that week and we are also giving away a gift card. There will be 3 winners. Guys, I wish I could give you the world, but I just don’t have the funds to more »

Book Review: The Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman

Posted March 18, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 12 Comments
Book Review: The Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman

Publisher: Ballantine BooksRelease Date: March 26th, 2013Pages: 288Genre: Adult ContemporarySource: Edelweiss Description from Goodreads:  A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach. It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her more »

Book Review of Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Posted March 14, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 18 Comments
Book Review of Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Publisher: Katherine TegenRelease Date: March 12th, 2013Pages: 480Genre: Young Adult-Science FictionSeries: Mila 2.0 #1Source: Edelweiss Description from Goodreads: Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence. Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past —that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do. Now she has no choice but to more »

Book Review of Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

Posted March 11, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 18 Comments
Book Review of Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

Publisher: Random House Children’s Books Release Date: March 12th, 2013Pages: 352Genre: Young Adult-Historical, HorrorSeries: Strands of Bronze and Gold #1Source: NetGalley Description from Goodreads:The Bluebeard fairy tale retold. . . . When seventeen-year-old Sophia Petheram’s beloved father dies, she receives an unexpected letter. An invitation—on fine ivory paper, in bold black handwriting—from the mysterious Monsieur Bernard de Cressac, her godfather. With no money and fewer options, Sophie accepts, leaving her humble childhood home for the astonishingly lavish Wyndriven Abbey, in the heart of Mississippi. Sophie has always longed for a comfortable life, and she finds herself both attracted to and shocked more »

Stacking the Shelves #33

Posted March 9, 2013 by Kara in Kara, Stacking the Shelves / 18 Comments
Stacking the Shelves #33

Welcome to Stacking the Shelves! Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Team Tynga’s Reviews. This is where we showcase books we have received or bought during the week.I have a baby haul this week for you guys, and I contemplated not even doing a post this week, but it’s become a habit for me to do these and I feel kind of empty when I don’t, so I thought what they hey, I’ll do it anyway. I am expecting some giveaway wins, but I still have not gotten them, so maybe next week? For Review: Have Mother, Will more »