Category: Kara

Stacking the Shelves #35

Posted March 23, 2013 by Kara in Kara, Stacking the Shelves / 23 Comments
Stacking the Shelves #35

Welcome to Stacking the Shelves! Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Team Tynga’s Reviews. This is where we showcase books we have received or bought during the week.Today is my 35th edition of Stacking the Shelves. Here’s to another happy 35!This week is also Great Imaginations’ 2 year blogoversary. We’re not planning anything more »

Book Review: The Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman

Posted March 18, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 12 Comments
Book Review: The Paradise Guest House by Ellen Sussman

Publisher: Ballantine BooksRelease Date: March 26th, 2013Pages: 288Genre: Adult ContemporarySource: Edelweiss Description from Goodreads:  A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach. It starts as a trip to paradise. more »

Book Review of Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Posted March 14, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 18 Comments
Book Review of Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Publisher: Katherine TegenRelease Date: March 12th, 2013Pages: 480Genre: Young Adult-Science FictionSeries: Mila 2.0 #1Source: Edelweiss Description from Goodreads: Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence. Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was more »

Book Review of Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

Posted March 11, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 18 Comments
Book Review of Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

Publisher: Random House Children’s Books Release Date: March 12th, 2013Pages: 352Genre: Young Adult-Historical, HorrorSeries: Strands of Bronze and Gold #1Source: NetGalley Description from Goodreads:The Bluebeard fairy tale retold. . . . When seventeen-year-old Sophia Petheram’s beloved father dies, she receives an unexpected letter. An invitation—on fine ivory paper, in bold black handwriting—from the mysterious Monsieur Bernard more »

Book Review of Unremembered by Jessica Brody

Posted March 8, 2013 by Kara in Kara / 18 Comments
Book Review of Unremembered by Jessica Brody

Publisher: Farrar, Straus, & GirouxRelease Date: March 5th, 2013Pages: 320Genre: Young Adult-Science FictionSource: I received an ARC from the publisherSeries: Unremembered #1 Description from Goodreads: When Freedom Airlines flight 121 went down over the Pacific Ocean, no one ever expected to find survivors. Which is why the sixteen-year-old girl discovered floating among the wreckage—alive—is making headlines across more »