Review: The Impostor Queen

Posted January 14, 2016 by Maryam in book review, Maryam / 4 Comments

Review: The Impostor QueenThe Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine
Published by Simon and Schuster on January 5th 2016
Genres: young adult, fantasy, romance
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
four-stars

The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.
Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule.
But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found.
Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, the home of banished criminals—some who would love to see the temple burn with all its priests inside. As she finds her footing in this new world, Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny. Torn between the love she has for her people and her growing loyalty to the banished, Elli struggles to understand the true role she was meant to play. But as war looms, she must align with the right side—before the kingdom and its magic are completely destroyed.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I buddy-read this book with Rachel from Go Read A Book, and woah, I was at one of my slowest moments. HAHA I think she finished reading the book like a day before me, because I was swamped with work. And this is my first time in a long time doing buddy-reads, and I have forgotten how amazing it feels to be able to rant to someone else about the book you’re reading, without worrying about accidentally giving out spoilers.

Anyway, I’ve heard many many great things about The Impostor Queen since last year, when the first ARCs came out and I’ve since been really excited about it. But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found. I was like OH MY GOD, I NEED TO READ THIS. Finally someone who is special but without having any magical abilities, technically.

The moment I started reading it, I was impressed by the world-building. Like, majorly impressed. I mean, woah, the structural description of each building, the lands, the seas, I WANT TO DIVE INTO THIS BOOK and live in that world. I mean, other than the evil people HEHE. I definitely love Elli from the start. Her determination, that sheer determination, just pulled me in. I wanted to coddle her, but at the same time, I’m proud of her for bravely going through each and every horrible trial that she was put under. I’m still not sure about this, but I think she was bisexual? I hope they touched more on that in the next book, because I felt that that part of her was pretty unique and I would seriously love it if they delved deeper into it. Maybe touch on it with her relationship with Oskar? I don’t know, but touch on it somehow HAHAHA.

I legit thought this was a standalone, so when I was at the last page, I dragged it on and on and on. And when it ended, I was just sitting there open-mouthed, and I had to send a capitalize tweet to Rachel, exclaiming that there had better be some kind of continuation, and lo and behold! THIS IS A SERIES. THERE WILL BE A CONTINUATION. YAY. I did find the ending a little bit rushed. There was silence, and a second later, the war was over. It was good, in the way that this book swept me up. But I was hoping for more details, especially on the incidents that occur. It felt quite touch-and-go there.

BUT. I am still excited to read the next book, especially understanding about Valtias (which seriously sounds like a Pokemon name, am I right?) and the different balance between the powers and all. GAH CAN’T WAIT. READ IT NOW. IT’S ALREADY OUT IN THE WILD.

MaryamSig_Purple

4 responses to “Review: The Impostor Queen

  1. I haven’t heard of this before but now I’m afraid it will have to go on my to read list. I love the idea of a fantasy without magic in the main character. Very intriguing!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge