Book Review: Between Us and the Moon

Posted December 18, 2015 by Maryam in book review, Maryam / 1 Comment

Book Review: Between Us and the MoonBetween Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel
Published by HarperCollins on June 30th 2015
Genres: young adult, romance, contemporary
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation.
Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett.
But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It's there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she's older, too—and she doesn't correct him.
For Sarah, it's a summer of firsts. Before she knows what's happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.
Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

I received this book for free from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book is weird. Because I didn’t love it nor hate it. I’m just pretty much on the fence.

The main character in this book, Sarah, did not grow on me. Throughout the whole book, I remember just wanting to shake her from head to toe. I mean, HELLO, YOU WANNA BE TREATED LIKE AN ADULT, BUT THEN YOU STILL ACT LIKE A CHILD?! Her thoughts were basically STILL childish, especially in keeping on with the lies. I get that this book was supposed to show you that lies can pretty much just build up, but I think Sarah had TONS of chances to right her mistakes. I was pretty much frustrated throughout this whole book. I definitely do not like an MC who makes mistakes practically 98% of the book, and ONLY learns her lesson in the last 2%. Like, where is the character development?

BUT I do like the male character, Andrew. I looked forward to the MC’s interactions with him. He is basically perfect. And not in the sense where he literally is perfect, but more like he admits his mistakes, and he really wasn’t a jackass or anything like that. The ending of this book got me feeling pretty much satisfied and was one of the reasons as to why I did not give this book lesser than a 3-star rating.

BUT HONESTLY. I still think the fault lies in the MC, and not the fact that everyone treated her like a kid. I mean, YO, YOU’RE THE ONE WHO CHOSE TO BE ANTI-SOCIAL, don’t blame it on the universe. SERIOUSLY. *drops mic*

MaryamSig_Purple

One response to “Book Review: Between Us and the Moon

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge