Epic Recs: Uprooted

Posted October 3, 2015 by Pixie in book review, epic recs, Pixie / 2 Comments

Epic Recs: UprootedUprooted by Naomi Novik
Published by Del Rey on May 21st 2015
Genres: fantasy, romance, new adult
Pages: 310
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.
Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.
The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.
But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.
From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

Uprooted was recommended to me as my September Epic Recs from Lyn (I know it’s October now. I’m slightly delayed on sharing my review… again. Lol). So check out my review below and then stay tuned for the next Epic Recs round!

 

Lyn absolutely hit the nail on the head by choosing Uprooted for me, I do believe. After basically being in a reading slump the past two months where it was beginning to become a real struggle to even pick up regular favorites for a re-read, I was wary to even give Epic Recs a go for September. I thought it’d just end in another DNF–or to technically put it–a simple set down because the whole reading thing just hadn’t been working. But I told her I’d still try. After all, it was in the Fantasy category, and that’s been one of the biggest go-to genres for me throughout the year. It was at least worth a shot.

I am so so so glad I did. Not only did I get immersed into this book from the first chapter, I was saying goodbye to that pesky reading slump! My schedule at times keeps me pretty busy and I found myself getting annoyed/angry every time I had to set it down or when I only had time to read a few pages here and there, because I just wanted to read this book in large chunks or all in one sitting for hours and hours. The world-building! The characters! UPROOTED WAS MADE FOR ME. I FOUND THE BOOK I NEEDED.

Fairy-tale stories, re-tellings, and other like stories seem to be popular, and growing even more increasingly popular, over the last couple of years. If you love these, then Uprooted is certainly in your range of tastes. It also is gorgeously written, has a strong cast of characters leaping from within its pages, and is a unique-in-its-own kind of way crafted tale.

All I can do is sit and gush over this book. I’m already planning to push it on anyone I know that hasn’t read it yet. SO. If you haven’t…. What are you waiting for?

 

 

2 responses to “Epic Recs: Uprooted

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge