Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

Posted May 26, 2015 by Lyn Kaye in Kara, Lyn, Top Ten Tuesday / 12 Comments

Top Ten Tuesdays

 

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.
This week’s topic: Top Ten Beach Reads!

With the temperatures climbing for the Northern hemisphere, most of our thoughts are turning to the summertime activities, such as cookouts, lemonade, and hitting the pool or beach.  Sand, sun, water and books, what a combination!

This week, Kara and Lyn share their top beach reads books for the warmer weather.

Border Leaf

Kara’s Picks

1. Starstruck by Rachel Shukert
This is like Gossip Girl set in glitzy 1930s Hollywood. There are characters to root for, characters to hate, romance, and lots of drama and angst. I haven’t read the sequel yet, but I am betting that one would make a good beach pick too.

2. The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
It’s a well-written family saga with a romance, lots of drama, and a fresh take on politics. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Emery Lord will LOVE this book, and it’s the perfect choice to absorb yourself in while you are sunning under a beach umbrella. This is one of my favorite books so far in 2015.

3. The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord
Speaking of Emery Lord, her latest release is the perfect book to take with you to the beach this summer. It has an adorable romance, a topic that isn’t written about often, and some incredibly engaging writing. When Open Road Summer came out, everyone said it was the perfect girl friendship book, but it was LOADED with slut-shaming and girl hate. But this book has none of that. Take it to the beach with your girlfriends and get lost in its pages.

4. Where Sea Meets Sky by Karina Halle
One of my favorite things to read on the beach are books about travel. This book has a romance, a great location, and a ton of atmosphere. It’s the perfect book to lose yourself in on a trip to the beach. Actually, many of Karina’s books would be great. Love, In English is another that comes to mind. There’s also a pretty fierce female protagonist who owns who she is in Where Sea Meets Sky.

5. Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard
Speaking of books about travel that are great beach reads, another great one is Wanderlove. It’s not so recent a release, but I still do think it’s one of my favorite young adult contemporaries, and it’s worth revisiting it on this blog from time to time so you don’t forget if you haven’t read it yet! In fact, part of this book actually takes place on a beach! What could be more perfect?
Kara Sig Plant

Lyn’s Picks
1. Keeper by Kathi Appelt
My favorite ocean/beach book! This novel takes place at one of my favorite vacation locations – the Texas coast line. Match that up with a wonderful storyline, beautiful illustrations, and a heartbreaking yet outstanding plot, and this book makes for an ideal day next to the water.

2. Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama
If you pick up any mermaid book, then make a beeline for this novel. Set on the coast, this ghost story/mermaid tale will surely have you flipping through the pages as fast as you can! Beware, though – you might be a little too creeped out to go back into the water after reading this book!

3.Holes by Louis Sachar
Another Texas-themed novel! Although Sachar’s revered metal-winning novel is set on the edge of a dried up lake, the pacing and the mystery will make this a great addition to your beach bag!

4. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
This pick is the heaviest novel on my list, but since it takes place in Australia, and features a few scenes next to a river, this book would keep you company on the coastline. Also, wearing sunglasses will hide the tears flowing down your face. Bring a towel and  a box of tissues!

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
This lovely little beach bum is set in a beach house. Also, just look at that cover! Does it not just scream “TAKE ME TO THE BEACH”?! You can also use that box of tissues that you brought for Jellicoe Road as well.

Lyn Sig Plant
What books would you like to take to the beach? Do you have a favorite genre for beach-visiting season?

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

  1. I’ve only read We Were Liars from your lists but many books are on my TBR. I especially can’t wait to read The Wrong Side of Right. I’ve been dying to read it since the cover was released but for some reason still haven’t purchased it. I’ve heard so many amazing things about Emery Lord, I really should pick up one of her books soon.
    Lovely lists. 🙂
    Veronika recently posted…Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This SummerMy Profile

  2. I hadn’t heard of Starstruck, but it sounds really interesting. I love books set in the 1930s, at least, I’m sure I would if I read them! 😀

    The Start of Me and You is on my list too! I should add The Wrong Side of Right to my TBR too, I have an ecopy and a physical copy and I’ve read neither yet. 🙁 I’ve heard Wanderlove is a good travel book! I need to read it.

    We Were Liars<3 I was just thinking earlier today "There needs to be a book like We Were Liars coming out every summer". I read that book in the fall, but it was still warm out. Anyway, it's perfect for summer, mysterious family, private island, secrets, so good.

    I totally picked books I would bring in my beach bag that I haven't read yet. 🙂 So I kind of did that backwards, no matter. For books I would take with me to re-read:

    We Were Liars and The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight.
    Amber @ YA Indulgences recently posted…Books That Are Sure To Be Great Beach ReadsMy Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge