Book Review: The Burning Sky

Posted March 21, 2015 by Pixie in book review, Pixie / 4 Comments

Book Review: The Burning SkyThe Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas
Series: The Elemental Trilogy #1
Published by Balzer + Bray, HarperCollins on September 17th 2013
Genres: fantasy, romance, young adult
Pages: 496
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Magic, romance, and intrigue combine in this extraordinary novel—the first in the Elemental Trilogy—for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore. Publishers Weekly called it "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review, and Kirkus Reviews said it "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of the Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

Let me ask you a few questions before I get into my review of The Burning Sky:

Do you like books that have a lot of romantic tension? Do you like fantasy? Do you enjoy tropes that include the female protag dressing up/disguising as a male, which leads to strong, bonding friendships between female and other males throughout the book?

If yes to any of these, then this book is most definitely for you.

I’d heard a lot about The Burning Sky since its release, and basically everything I’d heard was positive. I had to finally just find out for myself what was so good about this book. The thing is, I didn’t really have anyone pressuring me to read this title, and that’s why it took me awhile longer to get to it, but it’d been on my wishlist. And every time I’d go to update my wishlist, my attention was caught by that cover—and then I would find myself checking over the latest reviews, with my curiosity spiking all over again. So a few weeks ago, I had to stop passing it by and give this a chance at last.

I’m so glad I did.

The Burning Sky is MAGICAL. I wanted to go shouting from the rooftop the moment I’d finished how amazing this book was. There’s so much going on for this world, and I just want to stay immersed and keep reading. There are dragons, wands, magic, portals, and even mentions of flying carpets! I mean… This is the perfect ME book and I don’t know how I waited so long to get around to it.

I want to tell you all about this book, of course I do. I just want to talk and talk about these characters. I won’t though. You need to experience this for yourself. There’s so much that goes on, your head may spin—only in good ways though, I assure you.

There were only a few minor things, mostly a small predictability that I’m not quite sure if I’m even right or not. I think I’m only guessing a possible outcome, and will find out the more I read into the series. At the end of The Burning Sky, it did take on a slight twist that surprised me from another prediction I had initially made—so I was glad for it taking the turn. Maybe by the end of the series my overall outcome guess will have a change or twist and surprise me then also. Otherwise, this first installment is so packed with adventure and magic and romantic tension… I also can’t forget some sweet, laugh-out-loud moments… and I couldn’t take a moment to set this book down. I devoured every second!

Also, did I mention that instead of one villain, there are two? A male and female villain… which I found to be such a cool balance for some reason. Haha.

I don’t normally give a lot of books 5 and 4.5 stars. It takes a lot for me to rate books that high. But this year I’ve already had several books with these ratings, and looks like I’ve just added another. I can’t wait to pick up the next installment, The Perilous Sea, and find out what adventures are next for my new favorite characters!

 

PixieSig

4 responses to “Book Review: The Burning Sky

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge