Book Review: Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

March 26, 2015 book review, Pixie 1 ★★★★½

Book Review: Conspiracy of Blood and SmokeConspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman
Series: Prisoner of Night and Fog #2
Published by Balzer + Bray, HarperCollins on April 21st 2015
Genres: historical, romance, romantic suspense, young adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Buy the Book
four-half-stars
Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives in England, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.But then Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen's world turns upside down. When she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she'd escaped—and return to her homeland. Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel's name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time—or will Hitler discover them first?

I have a huge fascination with history and all things history really. But there are certain time periods that stand out to me most, that I always will be most interested in—usually war time periods like the American Revolution, The Civil War, WW1 & 2… I also adore ancient history that has anything to do with the Egyptians, Celtics, and Vikings. Okay. So you get it. I’m a history geek.

Anyways, one of my biggest interests is the WW2 time period and Holocaust. Though it is one of the world’s darkest time periods, I seem to never be able to deny reading or learning anything in this area. If a book has a summary that includes the timeframe, I’m almost sure to add it to my list immediately.

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke is the sequel to The Prisoner of Night and Fog, a historical fiction novel I’d read last year and fell in love within only a few chapters. This unique storyline is filled with a mixture of facts and fiction, giving it a very real depth. I was really excited to get granted the e-arc for CoBaS so I could continue following the characters’ stories through this dangerous time.

In this installment, the reader sees through them that things are looking a lot more grim. Everything has become an obstacle now, especially for Daniel. His and Gretchen’s relationship is tested to the max, and my heart hurts the entire time for them, and for the growing turmoil of the countries, while I’m reading. This book took on a lot more emotion I think than the first. It was darker. And at times, hard to read (not hard as in a bad hard, if you know what I mean).

If you’ve read Prisoner of Night and Fog, you won’t be disappointed in this one.

If you haven’t read Prisoner of Night and Fog and started on these characters and their story, what are you waiting for? Read these books.

 

PixieSig

One Response to “Book Review: Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge