Book Review: Soulprint

Posted February 21, 2015 by Pixie in book review, Pixie / 2 Comments

Book Review: SoulprintSoulprint by Megan Miranda
Published by Bloomsbury Children's on February 12th 2015
Genres: contemporary, mystery-thriller, romantic suspense, young adult
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Alina Chase has spent her entire life in confinement. With the science of soul-printing now a reality, she is 'protected' for her own safety and the safety of others because her soul has done terrible things ... or so she's told. When Alina finally breaks out of prison, helped by a group of people with unclear motives, she begins to uncover clues left by her past life that only she can decipher. And she may not be as innocent as she once believed. Can Alina change her future, or is she fated to repeat her past and face the consequences? Perfect for fans of Sophie McKenzie.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Soulprint was one of those “can’t put it down” reads. The concept of a technology finding out about past lives—soul fingerprinting as it was called—was beyond interesting and I loved every bit of it. To top it off, Megan Miranda created a cast of characters with complex personalities, and a thrilling mystery along the way for them.

Being a Miranda fan though, I have to admit a mild disappointment in this book. It didn’t feel as up to par with her other novels I’ve read and enjoyed. I had a lot of questions and confusion mostly throughout the read. Sometimes, despite the excellent concept and characters, I felt like that was just it. There wasn’t much of anything left to this book but those two things that I adored, because everything else really did need more detail in my opinion. Things were explained, and that’s how they were, and since it was there in the book, that’s how it was. Does that make sense? What I’m trying to say here is that I wanted more explanation so I could understand better. Not a basic “here’s the idea, you’re going to run with it since this is what it says.” Why did they just go with the one previous past life? What about other past lives? How many were there? This could be a really scientifically complex problem though, so I guess I get it. Lol.

Probably another issue I had was the huge predictability. I knew it was coming long before the end. I won’t say what since it’s spoilery. But it’s definitely predictable and that put me off. I DID like the ending, which changed things up quite a bit—as well as the romantic elements—that also made Alina stand out from her past life. There was also a lovely friendship that didn’t involve any slut shaming, back-stabbing, or one-upping the other, just a simple, easy friendship that I really liked seeing because it’s so rare to see them. Like I said, I love love love the characters.

The best thing though is that despite the few flaws/mild annoyances I had with it, I still sped right through this read. I kept wanting to know what was going to happen next and the concept was so awesome!

I look forward to more and more from Megan Miranda.

 

PixieSig

2 responses to “Book Review: Soulprint

  1. Jenny

    Sounds like a good one. It’s hard for me to enjoy a book too much if the concept is so mind boggling that I actually get a head ache reading it.

    • Pixie

      I think it’s a pretty simple sci fi/action, but enjoyable. So even if you don’t like real heavy sci fi concepts that get confusing, this would still be fun & easy to follow with a good mystery behind it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge